APPEAL TO THE NEBRASKA TAX EQUALIZATION AND REVIEW COMMISSION

READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULY BEFORE FILING AN APPEAL. ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS ARE LOCATED ON THE SECOND PAGE OF THIS FORM.

- For each decision, action, order, determination, parcel, or personal property list you are appealing, you **must** submit:
 - 1. A completed appeal form;
 - 2. A copy of the decision, action, order, or determination appealed; and
 - 3. The required filing fee.
- The deadline for filing an appeal or petition varies depending upon the type of appeal or petition being filed. See Page 2 of this form for more details.

Valuation Appeals & Petitions:	Contact Information	Contact Information for Person Signing this Appeal Form:		
TAXABLE VALUE FILING FE \$1 to \$249,999 \$40 \$250,000 to \$499,999 \$50 \$500,000 to \$999,999 \$60 \$1,000,000 + \$85	First Name MI Mailing Address	Last	Daytime Telephone Number Fax Number	
All Other Appeals & Petitions: \$40	City	State	Zip	
I am appealing from a decision of:		Legal D	escription and Parcel Number:	
The County	Board of Equalization.			
Other:				
☐I have other/unresolved appeals v	vaiting for hearings.			
I am signing this appeal as:				
The owner of the described proper	ty. A legally designated	d trustee of the	trust.	
☐ An officer, director, full-time emp	ployee, LLC member, etc	., of	·	
Legal Counsel for	🔲 O	ther:	·	
CAUTION: This appeal must be signed	ed by a property owner or o	other person authorize	ed by Title 442 Neb. Admin. Code.	
Reason for Appeal (Attach additional	pages if needed):			
Under penalties of law, I declar the best of my knowledge and be Sign here: Signature	elief.	stated on this ap	peal form is true and correct to	
Filing Checklist: Appeal Form	Decision	Filing Fee] Signed [
This space for office use only.				
Appeal #:				
Filing Fee:				
Check No:				
Verified:			Received	

FILING INSTRUCTIONS CONTINUED:

IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO REVIEW THE STATUTES TO DETERMINE THE APPLICABLE FILING FEE, FILING DEADLINE, AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS FOR YOUR APPEAL. Most relevant statutes can be found in Chapter 77 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes.

- Under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1502: If you protested a Notice of Preliminary Valuation or Notice of Valuation Change from the County Assessor to the County Board of Equalization and you wish to appeal the determination of the Board, your appeal must be filed no later than:
 - September 10 of the tax year in question for a county that has extended the protest hearing deadline;
 - August 24 of the tax year in question for all other counties.
- Under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1504: If a County Board of Equalization determined that your property was overvalued or undervalued, sent you notice of a proposed value, and made a decision on your protest of that value, your appeal must be filed no later than:
 - October 30 of the tax year in question for a county that has extended the protest hearing deadline;
 - October 15 of the tax year in question for all other counties.
- If a failure to give notice of a decision prevented timely filing of an appeal authorized by Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 77-1501 to 77-1510, you may petition TERC for review no later than December 31 of the tax year in issue.
- Various Nebraska Statutes allow appeals to TERC from decisions, actions, orders, or determinations made by a County Board of Equalization (other than the decisions described above); the Property Tax Administrator; the Department of Motor Vehicles (relating to value or taxation of motor vehicles); the Tax Commissioner (relating to eligibility for certain exemptions); and other entities as authorized by statute. Appeals from these decisions, actions, orders, or determinations must usually be filed within 30 days of their date.
- If a filing deadline falls on a weekend or state or nationally observed holiday, the filing deadline is extended to the next business day.
- Petitions, appeals, documentation, and filing fees may be mailed to TERC at: Tax Equalization and Review Commission, P.O. Box 95108, Lincoln, NE 68509-5108.
- Petitions, appeals, documentation, and filing fees may be hand delivered to TERC at the sixth floor of the Nebraska State Office Building, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln. An appeal delivered after 5:00 PM is deemed received the following business day. TERC does not accept appeals by fax or email.
- If an appeal is mailed to TERC through the US Postal Service, with the correct address and sufficient postage, the appeal is considered filed on the date of the postmark. If the appeal is sent to TERC through a private carrier (FedEx, UPS, etc.), the appeal is considered filed on the date it is received by TERC.
- Envelopes without sufficient postage or an incorrect address will not be delivered to TERC. The original postmark of an appeal or petition returned due to insufficient postage or an incorrect address will *not* be considered the filing date.
- Your appeal must include a copy of the decision, action, order, or determination appealed from, or other information that documents the decision, action, order, or determination you are appealing. See 442 Neb. Admin. Code Ch. 5 for examples of what constitutes "other information."
- **DO NOT SEND OTHER EVIDENCE WITH YOUR APPEAL.** When your hearing is scheduled, TERC will send you a Notice of Hearing explaining how to provide your evidence.
- Additional information is available on TERC's website at www.terc.ne.gov. TERC's telephone number is 402-471-2842. TERC employees will attempt to assist you but cannot give you legal advice about filing your appeal or presenting your case to the Commission.

ANY INCOMPLETE APPEAL MAY BE SUBJECT TO DISMISSAL DUE TO JURISDICTIONAL DEFECTS. Please review these instructions and check your appeal carefully to make sure it is complete before filing the appeal.